Help With Lens Selection for D200, Macro And Scenics

dan_v

I am new to the Nikon system; however, I see a D200 in my future and

will need a lens or two (to start) for it. I presume primes are

always(?) superior to zooms in producing highest-quality photos. I

shoot closeups and scenics primarily; not much into creature action

shots. I'm looking for the best glass possible. Your recommendations

are welcomed.

A friend of mine is a macro expert. She talked to some Nikon reps in Los Angeles, and they told her that there will be some DX macro lenses in the future. We don't know how far into the future, though.

Otherwise, the 60mm, 100mm and 200mm macros are all excellent lenses. The 200mm/f4 AF has the advantage of a tripod collar but 200mm may be on the long side for a small-sensor DSLR. Nikon also has a 70-180mm zoom macro, but it cannot reach 1:1 on its own.

"A friend of mine is a macro expert. She talked to some Nikon reps in Los Angeles, and they told her that there will be some DX macro lenses in the future. We don't know how far into the future, though."

You seem to be a source for vapourware, speculations and rumours, Shun?!

Vivek, if I dream up that Nikon should introduce such and such lenses, that is speculation. In this case, it is second-hand information from a source that I consider reliable, and IMO it is worthwhile to share it here. I specifically did not specify any time frame or which lenses as those are unclear to me.

And since I am also the moderator here, I get to decide what is and is not allowed here. Obviously I approve what I wrote. :-)

Do you have any problems with that?

It looks like speculation to me Shun. We do not know for sure that the new macro lenses will ever be available but I hope they have a great viewfinder and awesome buffer speed. Also I hope they come with VR-3 where you can shoot with 3 stops under.