like the D50 size, the D80 will be wonderful. Second, I just shot my first

event with my D200. The clarity and color rendering are amazing. I can almost

throw photoshop out except for some noise reduction at high ISO, which is

common. The noise is still minimal. The camera is simply awesome. The D200 is

sturdy, well balanced, and just feels good in the hand. For anyone who wonders

if it is worth the 6 or 700 extra dollars, by all means it is. If you can

afford to get this camera do so, you wont be disappointed. I am posting this so

some of you who are wondering what to do might have some insight. I am no pro,

just an average guy who loves to take photos.

The D200 is $1699 and the D80 $999. A 70% price increase for ergonomics alone might not be worth for some. I guess the D200 must come down in price a bit, perhaps a 30-40% price difference would be more suitable. Don't get me wrong, the D200 reminds me of my F100 (which I still own along with the D70) and I can definitely "feel" the difference in ergonomics. However, since the D80 came out, I've really started to oscillate between the D200 and D80. I think the only thing I would miss in the D80 is the 1/8000 max shutter speed, yes sometimes I end up shooting higher than 1/4000. I haven't tried the D80 yet, but since it's as small as the D50, it might be quite unbalanced with some of the heavier lenses I have.

I have recently bought a D-70s having stuck principally with film until now. (Other than a foray into digital with a Sony DSC f717 a few years back.)