Dynamic range of current Canon sensors

kanellopoulos

Slide film, I have read more than twice, has a latitude of about five

f-stops. How do current Canon sensors compare to that? Has anybody

experimented?

BTW, I plan to buy one or two ND grad filters from Singh-Ray for use

with my 20D (and hoping for a FF future). Apart from the 3 f-stop hard

one, which else would you add?

Nick - I think that many people would say that 5 stops is more like a bad print film, and that slide film has quite a bit more 7-8. But hey - I'm not an engineer.

I do know that many wedding photographers are happy with the dynamic range that they get from their 20Ds, D70's, etc, etc. What kind of work do you shoot? Landscapes, I presume?

I don't know what sensor you guys are using but my 300D certainly doesn't have anywhere near 7 to 8 stops of latitude. With Jpegs it has about 4 1/2 to 5 stops. You can get more by shooting in RAW. But to do that you have to decode the RAW file twice and combine the images in post processing. And if you are going to do that you get better results if you bracket your exposures and combine two shots instead of trying to use just one.

...a VERY sturdy tripod and absolutely zero subject movement in the frame. ND-Grads don't work for everything, but when they do, it sure beats compositing in PS.

Slide film does indeed have about 5 stops. DSLR sensors have more and it's been tested and verified time and time again. Jpeg images are limited because of the file format, not the sensor. There are several RAW image processors that will let you get more than 5 stops out of a good RAW file. Heck, the default Canon processor will do it - just save your files as 16-bit tiffs and process in PS.

<I>Slide film, I have read more than twice, has a latitude of about five f-stops. How do

current Canon sensors compare to that? Has anybody experimented?</i><P>

I suppose it comes down to how you define 'latitude' but no slide film I used in 30+ years