Cleaning a 1960s Summicron

melaniec

Is it humanly possible to clean this lens yourself? I know the coating is very soft, but I can't

wrap my brain around the idea that it has to be sent somewhere to be cleaned. Given the

right supplies, can't it be done at home? Or are these "right supplies" so specialized that it

isn't practical? Please advise.

Thanks, Melanie

The coating of today's lenses is much tougher than the coating used on these older lenses. I have no experience with cleaning a 1960 Summicron, but I remember I once screwed up cleaning a 1970 Nikon lens. I had rubbed off the thin layer of coating and the lens had to be sent out for repair (re-coating). Melanie, I wouldn't take the risk and have it done at an official Leica outlet or specialized photo repair shop. If there no bad artifacts showing up in your photographs I wouldn't even bother cleaning it. Really, if it affects quality have it cleaned. If not, why not screwing a UV filter over the lens to protect it?

Sure it is. Get a suitable UV or Skylight filter ready, then clean the lens front element once and put the filter on. Never take it off again. To clean it get a special microfibre cloth and a little bottle of camera lens cleaning solution from your local camera store. Use a fine brush (sable is good) to flick off any hard dust and grit then use the solution and cloth. Do it gradually applying very little pressure until it is crystal clear again. You will probably notice that there are some fine dust particles inside the lens but don't worry about them. Never rub hard at any stubborn marks as this is where you will damage the coating.

If Leica filters are too expensive for you (and for me) try B&W or Heliopan brands which are also v high quality.