Novar versus Agnar Lenses

I'm a black-and-white photographer working in both medium and large

format. One of my collecting interests is folding MF rangerfinders.

I have two Agfa 6x9s, each with Agfa "Agnar" f/6.3 lenses. I also

have two Ikontas, one a 6x6 and one a 6x9, each with "Novar" lenses,

one an f/3.5 (the 6x6) and one an f/4.5 (the 6x9).

I'm amazed at how sharp the "Agnar" lenses are, especially as I

assume that they are triplets. Can anyone tell me anything about

either the Agnars or the Novars, in terms of formula or anything

else?

Thanks,

Paul

Both the Agnar and the Novar are triplets, their cross-section looks very similar. The Agnar lenses had a successor, the Apotar lenses, a re-designed version of the 1950s using new optical glasses (but Agfa still made some cameras with Agnar lenses after releasing the Apotar).

There is not much known about re-designs of the Novar lenses. Most, if not all, post-war Novars were NOT manufactured by Zeiss but by Hensoldt and Rodenstock (there are even rumours that some of the non-Zeiss Novars had four elements). Maybe that's the reason why all post-war Novars I have seen do not have a serial number - pre-war ones are numbered and year of manufacturing can easily be determined.

The Novar is not that bad, either. I think most complaints about bad performance are caused by misadjustment - almost any old folding camera I have needed more or less readjustment. I once compared a pre-war 3,5/70mm Novar against a pre-war 3,5/75mm Xenar (four-element Tessar design) and found that the Xenar was not much better (but the post-war Xenars are very nice performers).

BTW if you are a triplet fan you should try a camera with a Meyer-Goerlitz Trioplan lens. The Trioplan is probably the best triplet lenses I ever came across.