RAW format

dutch simba

Hello,

newbie here... recently signed on to Photo.net and also recently

acquired a EOS 20D (upgraded myself from 300D).

I hope to be able to upload some photos in due course (think I made

a few nice pics recently on holidays in Australia) but I returned

and found something that surprised me a bit...

For the first time I shot in RAW format most of the time. I found

all CR2 shots only 1534 pixs wide while large JPEG would offer

almost 3600 pixs wide. This leaves me without much space to zoom in

or edit/cut while e.g. adjusting horizon and such like.

Any thoughts on this, can I shoot RAW in larger format (which menu

item then) or is there a trick in conversion to TIF or JPEG after

aditing in RAW ?

Thanks

Rudi

Something funny I noticed:

Though I don't use it now, when trying out various raw converters, I noticed RawShooter was able to extract 10~20 extra pixel width, all the way around. It *was* additional image, that all the other programs crop away. Kind of like a digital slide mount being taken off.

I am looking at the RAW pics (.CR2), not JPEG.

Used IrfanView to look at the files. Before posting I shot another testshot and looked at it: 1536 pixels wide. Directly on the CF-card, so without any transfer or editing.

IrfanView has no limits on sizes to see (I see JPEG 3600 wide...)

I have Photoshop 7 which does not recognize CR2 files.

I don't see where I can adjust the file size in my camera menu; all I see is a choice in various (1) JPEG sizes, (2) RAW and JPEG sizes and (3) RAW (1 setting).

Firmware 2.0.2

Still puzzled.

I just looked at my file size on EOS Viewer Utility and they range from 7MB up to 11MB.