Imporoving portrait skills

marcsaint

I want to improve my portrait photography skills -- specifically in

the context of my wedding photography. I'm pretty sure my candid work

is good, but I really feel my portraits are not up to the level I want

them to be. I'm pretty much self-taught but I need to get up to speed

quickly (i.e. before next May). I am well-versed technically but

lighting and posing are mysteries to me.

I think I would like to take a course or seminar with someone but I

don't know who -- does anyone have any recommendations? I work out of

the Western Massachusetts area but am willing to travel. Also, if you

have a better idea on how to do this, please let me know.

Thanks!

Marc St.Onge

www.saintongephoto.com

If you're serious on this subject, contact this person ... irakly@shanidze.com

Irakly Shanidze is a great teacher and a gifted portrait artist. He is currently in Russia at the

request of Moscow University teaching a special photography class, but will be back in the US

on Dec. 10th I think. He also teaches on line as well as traveling around the country giving

3-5 day seminars.. often heavily attended by working pros.

the best thing anyone can do to help their portrait photography is to take a drawing class or two. regardless of drawing ability, and if your self esteem is high enough to handle being bad at it amongst a classroom of great sketchers, then do it. you may dread going to the local highschool twice a week for six weeks of night classes, but your photography will benifit forever.

this will help your photoshop touch up skills too.