morocco

i am an amateur photographer who has usually done available light

photography. simple stuff, really. kids, parties, etc. i use a

leica m6ttl - it is my only camera.

i am not married to the idea of only avilable light photography,

though this is nearly blasphamous (?sp) on the leica forum. not

always happy with available light, i have had a metz 54mz4 for >1

year that i use fairly regularly. i hate direct flash, so usually

bounce it off the ceiling for a less extreme look.

so i would like more interesting lighting, but i do not want to

change camera systems or invest significant time and money into an

outfit that i will use once a year to take my kids christmas

pictures. a single continuous softbox seems smart, but in the photo

store they said it would be terrible for the subject(s) secondary to

the heat produced and bright light in the face. strobes are the way

to go, they say.

is there a way to take my metz 54mz4 and put it off camera many feet

away (not the 3 feet long adapter i have seen to put the flash on a

camera mounted flash bracket)? if there is, can't i somehow put the

metz flash on a rig that fires into a softbox or umbrella?

i do have a 42" reflector and stand that can throw some of the light

into the shadows created by this light.

i am an amateur who would love to work with equipment that i already

have, and to take advantage of the TTL flash capabilities that my

flash and camera have when the flash is in the hot-shoe.

thanks in advance.

bill morocco.

I find it hard to imagine that Leica doesn't have an TTL extension cable (like the Nikon SC-17)? So I'm assuming that it's something you don't want to buy.

If this is the case, you could use regular sync cord to get the flash away from the camera. You would need to manage flash exposure on your own at this point. This could be accomplished with either a flash meter or math using the guide number of the unit.