Need an assistant in Minneapolis, MN area?

Hi, My name is Aaron. I shot my first wedding back in August with a friend in photography

school. I have been extremely interested in getting into the business, but know that

assisting a real pro would be the best. I've been doing a LOT of reading and looking at

other wedding images to learn from my and their mistakes.

I would be willing to assist and work as a second shooter with the intention of mentoring

me.

All my images would share copyright, I would not retrain rights to sell them - only for

portfolio use.

Sincerely,

Aaron

I wish you better luck than I had. It's a tough market here and I had very little success finding a mentor or someone willing to take me on as an assistant - and I offered to work for free. Now that I have some experience on my own I could really use help with processing questions and discussions about exposure/composition issues. But, once you become viewed as "the competition" your already limited resources dry up REALLY quickly.

My advice would be to keep shooting, keep critiquing your own work, stay positive and don't give up. As I already said, I hope you have better luck than I did!

Andea,

I took a quick look at your work. Perhaps we could work together a couple times? I do

have some ideas that we could work together on that would be mutually benificial.

I wanted to work with my friend as we were a great tag team: we were always in

complimentary positions to make sure if one of us did not get the shot/angle, the other

one had it nailed right away. Unfortunately, he swears he will never do a wedding again!

Too much stress, he said. I totally loved it!

I'm going to try and check the local PPA as well.

Thanks!

Aaron

Aaron,