How to knock the corners off an image?

I've pulled all of my hair out. I've searched the archives. I need

help!

I have been working on a project for a church in which the goal is

to photograph all of the stained glass windows. My end goal is to

make individual prints of the windows as well as making a poster

with all of the windows, icons, murals, etc arranged nicely.

I am working from scans of the negatives. I am all but done with

edits to the individual windows. (I am a total newbie in PS. I am

using CS2 and learning as I go. Perspective correction was a real

fun time, let me tell you.)

Here's my dilemma. The stained glass windows are typical in that

the tops are arched. My photos are rectangular. I want to knock

the corners off and be left with the window itself. That way I can

arrange/print them on a background of any color without each window

having two big black corners at the top.

I've been trying magnetic lasso. Works fairly well. My problem

after cutting the selection off is that I'm left with a big white

corner with a frame around it. I don't want the frame. I can't

tell if it's simply PS's way of showing me where the paperspace is

or if it's telling me I can't make rounded-top photos.

I admit my ignorance on this. Please help. I'm beyond ridicule at

this point, so have your way with me...

First, I recommend going to www.lynda.com and taking the course Enhancing Digital Photography. It will cost you $25 for a one month subscription to the site, and you'll learn by watching Quicktime movie demonstrations. I've been using PS since version 2.0 and found much to learn.