Advice - how did/would you do it?

melody1

Alright, I feel I'm in a bit of a conundrum.

I'm passionate about photography, loved shooting the (first and only) wedding

I was about to shoot as a second shooter. I'm studying fine art photo at an art

college in Washington D.C. I want to have as much experience shooting

weddings as possible by the time I graduate (another three years).

My conundrum? I'm a full time student and part time waitress. I'm in school all

day four days a week, and I work the other three days to pay the bills. All

assistant/second shooter offers I've recieved have been for less money/hour

than I can make at my restaurant (averages 35/hour). So here I am at the

crossroads. Taking off at work is hard, and we have set schedules (me, Wed,

Sat, Sun).

I'm growing leaps and bounds in school (it's a new world to me, and a huge

change from the three years of majoring in chemistry at a small state

university in the middle of nowhere), and I feel like the experience would be

extremely useful shooting weddings.

So, I ask for your advice. Keep making the money for now and worry about

experience a little later down the line, or try to fit some experince in and take a

blow to the wallet...

Thanks ahead of time for your help.

Oh. And if you would like to see that one wedding I shot: http://

www.photo.net/photos/melodysmall

They're quite dark - edited on a laptop screen that I can't seem to calibrate

(cringe) so viewing them on anything else, they're too dark, and the colors are

off.

Melody:

Where there's a will, there's a way. If you want it badly enough, you'll figure out how to get there!

Have you considered looking for a another job with different / more flexible hours, that will meet your financial needs and still allow you to engage in the photography?