group of 275

steve_gibbs1

I am shooting a group shot of 275 people next week, sunny outdoors. I have

not shot anything this large since I was an intern at my university. The risers

will be provided for me, but everything else is my show. Since I dont know the

width of the risers yet, I dont know how high it will be. I am thinking I will need

some sort of elevation (platform ladder, cherry-picker etc) and at least two

strobes on 12' -15'+ stands to fill the shadows. Am I over-thinking this?

If this goes well, I have a very good shot at a BIG contract so I need to "wow"

the hell out of them. They were very dissapointed with their last photographer,

who showed up with an old 35mm and a little shoe flash.

I have never done a group this large, and this might be obvious, but take it with a teaspoon of salt.

sounds like you are not overthinking this, because a lot could go wrong here. doing a job like this casually means not doing it again :-(

275 people sounds like a large coverage area, so I think you would need to have your two flashes at least 30 feet from people, or have more flashes closer (the further away they are, the less contrast the lighting will have between the hotter spots v. the cooler spots).

assuming a 1/250th sync, I think that you are going to need two strobes that can consistently hit f11 or f16 at 30 feet - those are pretty powerful strobes. if you are getting paid decently, try to rent some monolights and power packs for them - they will be much better than multiple 580 or SB800s, I think.

You will probably want to take 10 or so takes. set up everything well in advance.

are you shooting on digital or MF? shoot RAW if digital, of course.

meter your flashes very carefully or use digital to preview your coverage.

cherry picker will be expensive, but will get a 'wow' factor for you. OR get two assistants to hold a ladder for you as you climb up.

good luck. tell us how it goes.