Fuji GX680 Checklist

mark_ryan2

I'm looking to expanding into MF to compliment my 35 rangefinder and

digital gear. I'm new to MF, so some of my questions are general

ignorance, some specific about the GX system. It seems the GX would

give the biggest advantages over my other gear with bigger negatives,

and the ability to do tilt and shifts. I've learned a lot with the

achives here and Danny's site, great resource.

What happened to gx680.com? I really didn't see all the info that

some older posts seemed to alude to.

It seems that the III is not really more capable than I and II?

On parts swaping, the I & II can use the III series backs with the

different masks (Could someone explain "backs" and 120 & 220 inserts,

how hard is it to reload film?)

I'm getting that the AE finder is nice, but people still usually use

a handheld meter.

What is the diffence between GX and GXM lenses? I thought I saw

someone make that distinction.

What would be a checklist of parts I need (like backs and parts,

batteries, chargers, remote releases, finders)?

What would be the price range for a 65mm lens with a recommended kit

set-up? I'd like to add a 80-100mm 35mm equivilent portrait lens

later.

I see Robert White is often suggested as a source, but I don't see

him with much. I travel to Denver, Chicago, Dallas, Houston,

Minneapolis - any shops there specialize in 680s?

Hi Mark,

I don't own a 680 myself, but many of the photographers I assist do. I'll try to offer you any info I may have.

I really don't know what kind of shooting you do (or plan to do with your new camera), but keep in mind that the Fuji 680 is a beast! A good tripod is a must with this one...