Nikkor lenses

nuria_tomas

hi

I'm new in the forum. I have a manual Nikkon FM2 with a lens nikkor

40 f/1.8. I've been using it for 13 years with no other lenses, no

filters, no flash.

I want to buy new lenses (85 mm). As far as I know, AF nikkor lenses

are for autofocus . Do the AF nikkor lenses match with the FM2

camera? What lenses do I have to look for?

And what kind of flash can I use with the camera?

thank you

As long as you look at fixed focal lenghts, all AF-Nikkors except the 10,5mm DX will match. With zooms stay away from G-lenses.

With flash you have several options. An excellent small option is the SB30, but if you require swivel head and more power the SB24,-25,-26,-28,-80 are good options. Something in between would be the SB20 or -22.

New to flash? I hope you don't mind a quick tip or two.

For fill flash, keep the flash near the camera (hot shoe is fine) and dial in -1 or -2 stops on the flash. This will preserve the shadow patterns of the dominant light source but will lessen the contrast of the scene (lightens the shadows but still preserves the shadow pattern).

For flash as the dominant light source, move the flash off of the camera (you'll need a cord). For portraits, try starting with the flash at 45 degrees above and 45 degrees to the side of the subject. And make sure that the subject turns a bit towards the light and not away from it. Also make sure you observe the patterns of light and shadow on faces. Small changes can result in very different images, so experiment.

Good luck.

Robert

How did you arrive at a desire for an 85mm? Have you used one? It's a lovely focal length (one of my favorites / most used), but one 'theory' of building out a lens kit would say it is too close in focal length to your 50mm. Many of us (but not all) tend to 'skip' every other common focal length. Put another way, I'm a 24/35/85 kind of guy, and I've met many others who are more like 28/50/105. Not an absolute, but something to think about.