Is it still possible to modify a non-ai lens to ai?

lawrence_bochkis

Searches have not given me any definitive results, so I appologize if

this has been hashed out before:

I just spoke to one of my local camera shops, and the guy there told

me that it is no longer possible to modify non-ai lenses to ai,

because the parts are no longer available, and while people still

"cobble together" solutions, as a rule it's not possible anymore.

Is that true? I'm new to Nikon, and so far all I have is an FG, but

I'm looking to get some lenses, especially very fast lenses like the

55's, etc.

If it is possible, I would like to know how to do it, and how much it

might cost...I've read that in the past it was relatively simple, but

the camera shop guy told me that it isn't. Cheers

"I just spoke to one of my local camera shops, and the guy there told me that it is no longer possible to modify non-ai lenses to ai"

Complete rubbish (almost). NIKON no longer offers an AI conversion service, and no longer stocks AI conversion kits. BUT ... there are AI kits still available from a couple of sellers for SOME lenses, and for those where parts are no longer available, there are a couple of outfits that will "cobble together" a solution by machining the original aperture ring.

http://www.aiconversions.com/

http://hometown.aol.com/wdshpbiz/AImod.html

http://billrogers.com/nikonai.html (OEM AI conversion kits)

Google John White in Michigan. He charges around $25 per lens, and does nice clean work. A lot of photographers do this to enjoy using the classic chrome barrel (non AI) Nikkors on modern (AI) bodies. People say these werent multi coated, and designed by computers, and therefore are inferior to later lenses. This is rubbish as well!

Remember that camera sales people are generally clueless to reality. They only know and speak the latest & greatest gear.