I'm archiving thousands of B+W film images of all sizes and types on an Imacon 848.

Any suggestions on scanner settings? Any suggestions on a B+W color space?

I'm fairly new to scanning B+W and hope to do this right from the beginning.

I'm experienced with scanning color neg and slide film in terms of color operating, usm,

etc

Any suggestons or help would be greatly appreciated. :) Thank you.

Use the biggest color space as possible (16-bit for greyscale if the Imacon will handle it). Or, scan in color if 16-bit greyscale isn't available.

Scan to capture as much dynamic detail in the neg as possible, even if this results in a slightly muddy image. You can always correct later.

I scan in 16bit colour and edit in the ProPhoto space.I find scanning in colour gives far more

room for correcting for exposure than scanning in Greyscale. I also leave my shots in RGB

mode, allowing for toning (I've a nice set of curves for selenium and other tones I scored

from http://www.butzi.net ) and for printing at a lab as well as at home (Digital printers at

labs typically require RGB mode files)

Scan it in color, then when you have time open it in PS and turn the channel in best focus into a gray scale. (In PS select the channel then do Image->Mode->Grayscale.) The reason is the film is in a curved plane but the imager is flat at a width of ~50 scanlines, so there will be some mismatch. Focus calibration is generally done on the green channel since it's physically in the center, but I think the Rodenstock lenses used by Imacon might be a little sharper at the blue end. Generally, the red channel is the softest and it's a pick between green or blue. But not always, and not with all films.