nikon on the ocean?

dennis_d._hardenburger

This might not be an approropriate question for this site, but I'll

try. I shoot n90s and primes,my question is would you keep your

camera equipment on board a fishing vessal in the pacific for six

months at a time. I commercial fish for a living and enter ports from

Canada to Mexico and would like to have my equipment with me but am

worried about the salt air. thanks for any replies.

Dennis Hardenburger

I'm assuming you have some sort of locker you can put your gear in. Buy a good camera bag. Look in photo magazine or go to B&H web site for info. Make sure you have either a skylight or UV filter on every lens. In brighter climates you may want a polarizer filter. This will protect the lens coatings from the highly corrosive salt spray, not to mention the benefits of the filters themselves. Bring plenty of camera cleaning supplies-paper,lens cloths,cleaning fluid etc. When not using your camera and lenses make sure your gear is clean and then store in camera bag and put the camera bag into your locker. Don't store your camera in hot climates like the engine room. Your state room would be the prefered environment. Always protect your gear from salt spray. One last word of advice, have fun, you have a great opportunity to record your travels.