Mac folks - Apple Cinema Display vs. iMac G5 LCD

Ok, so I need some advice here - the time is drawing near to replace the old 466Mhz

G4 Power Mac. I'm considering 2 options - a fully loaded 20 inch iMac, or a Power

Mac G5 with a 20 or 23 inch Cinema Display. All power differences aside, since the

extra power of the dual-processor is nice but not necessary, I have decided that it has

come down to price and monitor quality - Basically, if the screen on the iMac is the

same quality as the Cinema Display, I'm going with the lower priced iMac, but if it's

lower quality, it's time to ante up for the G5 Power Mac. I've used both and I can't see

a difference right away, but I'd like to hear from someone who has some experience

with both, especially any opinions about calibration - I use Photoshop intensively, so I

don't want to end up with a crappy, low-end monitor that's impossible to calibrate.

This will be my first LCD, as I've been using the old Apple 17" CRT for 5 years now.

Thanks all!

The 20 inch Apple Cinema Display and the 20" display on the iMac G5 are the same size but

they are NOT the same screen. Go for the separate screen. Further the iMac has a low RAM

limit so that if/when you uograde to CS 2 you will not be able to add sufficient RAM to use its

full 3.5 GB RAM accessability.

If you think the screens are the same take a well scanned large format image (say a 4x5

transparancy scanned at 1800 ppi on a Microtek 1800f) along on a CD or DVD and look at

the differences ...... they are easily visable.

Something else you may want to consider is noise. I?ve found that the fan that cools the

processor in the iMac is quite noisy. This can be mitigated under the Energy Saver

Preferences by clicking on the reduced processor performance, which reduces the time or

eliminates the need for the fan at cost of reduced processor performance.

Cheers,

Doug Adama

I am going through the same process - 5-year old Apple 17" CRT and a Dual 500 Gigabit