Not a bad inexpensive macro lens (Phoenix 100mm)

scott_rushing

FYI, wanting to find an inexpensive macro lens for the D70, I kept

reading various queries and responses on this board. Being fairly

new to photography, I really didn't know how much I'd use the macro

lens so I didn't want to put $400-$700 in one right now (it's

golfing weather and one must have their priorities in line....).

Even in used lenses I couldn't find quite what I thought was a good

fit. But I stumbled across a review of the Phoenix 100mm f3.5 macro

lens and did some more research and found most people thought the

optics were half way decent but the outer casing was fairly cheap.

So I took the plung and I must agree. When you hold it you think if

you drop it, it'll shatter. But I can't say I'm disappointed with

the results.

http://www.photo.net/photo/3442952

This is one photo I took today. Granted, it might not be the most

amazing shot (but factor in I am a newbie...) but for the $150, I'm

pleased and really think I'll be able to say I'll get my monies

worth out of it...

just an fyi for those out there looking for something decent that

won't break the bank...

S

Correct me if I am wrong but I believe Phoenix is Vivitar with just different stamping on the lettering. I have overheard at camera fairs and seen posted before that the Vivitar 90mm-100mm macro was one of the all time best in macro area and for about 1/3 to 1/4 the cost of Nikon.

For less than $130 dollars, you can't go wrong.

That image is the JPG straight off the camera with no sharpening or any alteration what so ever. It is an AF lens and works pretty well, its a little noisey but then again its only a $150 lens. As far as the metering goes, I can't answer that yet as I didn't even pay attention to the metering on those shots. But I'll look into it and see what I can find.

Hello