I'd be interested to get infrared straight from the camera, if at all

possible, I'm not looking forward to spending hours on a computer to adjust my

images. I have basic knowledge of Photoshop 7, any experience with other

software programs welcome.

Thanks for your input.

regards

Jan

Hello,

If possible, go for the option of removing the IR filter from a digital camera....many posts here in the last several weeks. By removing the IR filter, it is then possible to make handheld exposures. EG., I routinely shoot at F8 and approx. 125th/sec. The D50 or a used D70 are good options. Several people do the conversions: Life Pixel is good (he did mine), and there is a fellow in California who does the same work for somewhat less. Again, info has been posted here before. An image from Central Park as an example...

Hi, Jan,

This is Akira;-)

Yes, I'm enjoying my D2H very much.

However, I should make it clear that what I enjoy is the all in one capability that D2H is, I would say, blessed with by nature. And currently I'm much more into UV photography because it seems more rare and more esoteric.

Since you have a long experience of film IR photography and are planning to go for digital IR, I would NOT reccomend D2H as the best candidate for your need. You'd better have D70, D50 or even D200 modified by experienced people in this area.

As for post-processing, I don't have any good example to show, but here is how original data out of "unmodified" D2H looks (only resized and saved as JPEG). The lens used was an old Nikkor UD 20mm/f3.5 and the filter is fuji SC72, roughly an equivalent of Kodak Wratten 89B, 0.77sec, f11, ISO200.:<div>00HPuu-31376384.jpg.53295a065afafd2acfb40777ae4a1f46.jpg</div>