Get the IS version or get 2 L lenses?

felix_ing

Hi there,

Please give me some opinions as to my lens purchase dilemma.

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM = $2300 CND

EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM = $1500 CND

EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM = $1050 CND

Now I'm a freelancer, might potentially do some runway shoots but I

intend to do mostly fashion portraits (I have just rented the IS

version and will be testing it out tmr during a fashion show, if I

fall in love with it, then that's a different story, but I don't

even have the non-IS version to compare...) Would you rather not buy

the IS version 70-200 and add $250 for 2 L lenses? And yes I still

shoot film so if I have to get dSLR I'd have no choice but to go 30d

or even xt! (since my budget priority is given to L lenses)

I've talked to 2 photographers and they say IS is a MUST.

Unless what you will be shooting makes IS manditory, I would suggest that you get the non-IS and the 24-70mm. Later on, if you decide that you really need IS, you can sell the 70-200mm non-IS for nearly what you paid for it and then upgrade.

A little off topic, but before you spend $2300 CDN on the IS lens, check B&H's prices. On the other hand, the 24-70 price you list is less than B&H's. Is it used?

The non-IS 70-200mm is supposed to be a little bit sharper than the IS version. Aside from that, just try turning the IS off on the one you're renting, and see how it goes.

I would think that for your application, the IS would be very helpful.