Recommendations for a decent 6x7

charon2112

I bought a Mamiya RB67 Prod SD last year and I really like it. Although some people will tell you it is too heavy, I am mainly a large format photographer and wanted something portable and easy to set up for more casual and candid situations (travel, family, etc.). Although it is not light, it suits me fine. There are lighter cameras, for sure, such as the Mamiya 7, but they are much more expensive and do not have interchangeable backs. If you are using this for landscape work, it should be no problem, although I would personally recommend going larger for landscape work (4x5 and up).

I got mine for about $1200, but this included a fairly recent RB67 Pro SD body, three lenses (90mm C series, 127 C series, and a 180 K series) and two backs (120, and a 120/220). There are even better deals out there now, but make sure you get the most recent model you can afford. These cameras often saw a LOT of mileage so do your homework.

Rick,

The good news is that all of the 6x7 systems out there work very well. I love the RZ but,

for something cheaper, I suggest you look at the Pentax 67. I guess, for landscapes, you

should look for a mirror up version. More good news is that lenses for the Pentax system

are some of the best priced in the market.

On the other hand, if you were looking for top, top quality you could go for a technical

camera and indulge yourself with movements and assorted Schneider and Rodenstocks

lenses. Trickier to use and more expensive to buy but fantastic results.

I've owned an RZ67II and Pentax 67II, but were i to buy a 6x7 for landscape work now, it would be the Mamiya 7II.