My evolving lighting needs (will SB-50DX work w/ SB-800?)

darren_cokin

Before I get to my queries, a bit of background...

I am an amateur photographer, not a professional. But I don't want anyone to

notice that when they see my photographs! I'm always trying to improve my

technique, and take better pictures with the tools I have available.

I haven't really focused my attention on any specific type of photography. I've

done landscape work, panoramas, candid / street photography, nature photography,

macroscopic bug photography, Hockney-esque collages, "art" photographs of

beautiful women, etc.

When I first acquired my D100 three years ago, I was happy with the pop-up

flash. But when the shadow from the front of my wide angle lens began to bother

me, I bought a SB-50DX. (Great little flash. Recycles fast with those lithium

batteries.) When friends started to ask me to shoot their weddings, I got a

camera flip bracket and extension cord for it. But when friends started asking

for headshots... (I live near Hollywood, what can I say.) ... I noticed I had

a problem.

I would encourage my friends to hire a pro, who takes headshots all day, and has

studio lights all set up. But if they wanted something in a jiffy, or didn't

want to spend any money, I would offer to help them out and do the best I could.

But even with the cord to put the flash off to the side, I really felt with

just one flash I wasn't doing as good a job as I should.

Flash forward to this weekend... My neighbor throws a hot-tub party, and there

are lots of scantily clad women about. There's one girl wearing black knee high

boots with her bikini that I found so striking, I snapped a picture from behind.

When she turned around and saw me, she struck a pose. I kept snapping, and she

kept posing... Having fun, I took nearly a hundred pictures of her. She loves

them, I think they're amateurish. (I was drunk, using the 18-200 zoom, and with