channel, and then loading that into the image, I seem to miss

something- do I then delete the channel as a last step, or save with

it in ? I am new to PS and am probably confused about some basic

concepts.

Here are the instructions-

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/smart_sharp.shtml

Appreciate any help.

Subhash

The channel you create (the aplpha channel) is a mask that only shows up the edges you

wish to sharpen - you apply USM to the image, using this channel as a selection so only

those bits get sharpened.

You are supposed to apply "find edges" to a *duplicate* of a channel (lightness in LAB

color he suggests for a color pic) and then "select all" and paste this into a new alpha

channel to create the edge mask. Then you apply the sharpening to only the areas in that

alpha channel, but you must load the selection of that alpha channel onto the image to be

sharpened. (Lightness in LAB color here).

There is no need to delete an alpha channel, except to save storage space.

I have no idea if this helps at all - I am also learning PS and its helpful to try and explain,

even if just for me.

Thanks Robert. Problem is, there is something that I am not quite 'getting". Interestingly, in the link above, if you follow carefully and go to the links at each step, one of them (step 12) is an error. After that, I "dial in" the sharpening. Then the author assumes I know how to save everything, but should one leave the channel in place or delete it? Is the sharpening (at that point) on the channel or the RGB image ? Will try again. If you think of anything I am missing, do let me know...

>>one of them (step 12) is an error.

it shouldnt be - you need to make sure you are working on the right layer in your layers

palette tab....

>>After that, I "dial in" the sharpening. Then the author assumes I know how to save

everything, but should one leave the channel in place or delete it? Is the sharpening (at