Can you use ipod transfer with 5d? good idea?

john_kramer3

I am a travel photographer and want to get a 5d. switching to

digital adds the complications of downloading memory cards and

charging batteries. for a portable transfer device I am trying to

decide between buying a 60 gig ipod photo, or getting a portable

hard drive/card reader I think a 40 gig card reader thing is about

$169. I usually travel with an ipod anyway, though, so this option

may sound more convenient. 2 questions

1) I heard ipod transfer is not compatible with a lot of new

cameras, will it work with 5d?

2) Is this a practical option? I talked to one friend who does this

and says that the ipod is unbelievably slow to transfer to, and it

drains the batteries very quickly. I need to download 4 gig cards

one every couple of days. How long might it take? Will the

batteries of the ipod and camera last long enough for one transfer?

more than one transfer? Is it reliable? thanks.

I don't know if I'd trust portable hard drives in any device when travelling. Drop that device

down a staircase and your photos are gone.

Personally I'd invest in a pile of memory cards - they're getting pretty cheap these days - and

rely on solid state. Then you don't have to spend time at the end of each day juggling files

and recharging things and whatnot.

The newer Apple camera connector is much better than the old Belkin equivalent, but as far as I'm concerned, it is not really a practical solution for storing files from your 5D. It is still slow, still drains the battery, and there is no way to preview raw files. A dedicated portable storage device would be a much better choice.

John, I tried the ipod route and quickly learned I made a mistake so the kids use it for

music now, its way too slow and battery drain was unacceptable.

I then purchased the Epson P-2000 which is excellent and have used it for well over a year

and still feel the same way. Take Care, Pete