Greetings to everyone:

I am relatively new to digital photography and planning to set up a

digital darkroom. I am using a Nikon D70 as my main camera.

Could any one advise / help me in acquiring a laptop computer. I am

looking for a lightweight model (that I can travel without being too

heavy), with the best screen resolution for digital imaging; and

hoping that someone can suggest what system specs would be most useful.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

If you want to travel a lot, consider a small model like a 12" laptop. If you think this is too small then a 15" will be better but heavier and obstrussive sometimes.

If you are in the market for a windows based laptop, buy one with centrino technology because of battery performance and weight. New laptops have the extra bright glossy screens that are awesome but are subjet to reflect everything and gives you a headache! At least to me it does.

If you are in the market for an apple laptop, there are the ibooks and powerbooks. I would not recommend you an ibook because of their speed being so slow. So look for a powerbook, all their screens are the pretty much the same so there is not doubt in choosing the best screen.

I would say that almost any decent laptop that you buy can buy for around 1500 have a very similar screen, so consider buying a colorimeter to calibrate your screen.

I would like to respectfully disagree with the previous person's contention that iBooks are

much slower than Powerbooks. The specs just don't support the statement.

I have used both a G3 600MHZ and G4 1GHZ iBook with Photoshop. Both iBooks are

plenty fast (RAM was maxed-out in both computers) and while the 12" screen is small, it is

entirely workable, especially if a person uses Apple's Expose. And while PBs have higher

resolution screens, they are the same LCDs used in the iBooks.

If portability is important, the 12" iBook is ideal. The extra three inches in the mid-size PB