Smugmug - Filesize Limitations

Smugmug says its file size limitations are 8MB. I signed up for a trial account

and have a little problem with this limitation due to my workflow. Unless I can

come up with a simple fix (read: fast and retaining quality), it's gonna be a

deal breaker for me. I'd like to use smugmug's entry level account for family

and friends photo sharing. I'm not a pro and never will be. I'm really

interested on what the helpful community here has to say. :)

<p>

Below, see the email message I sent to smugmug (I'll let you know what they say

as soon as I hear from them):

<p><i>

I see, now that I've opened an account that file sizes are limited to 8MB. I

shoot with a Canon Rebel XT in RAW and do my post-processing in Adobe Lightroom

Beta 2. When finished and ready to print or place online, I export to JPEG in

sRGB color space. This produces files sized 6-10MB in JPG format. I'm happy

with my workflow and don't really want to change it. I'd really like to give

smugmug a shot but I'm not ready to make drastic changes to my workflow. Do you

have any suggestions on a simple fix for the file size (to keep under 8MB)? I

don't want the quality to suffer, nor am I ready to shell out $150 for the pro

account.</i>

<p>

Regards,

<p>

Eric Reagan