digital labs

zofia

Hi, I'm a wedding photographer that's (FINALLY) shooting digital. Yes, I searched these

labs on the forum before asking this question...no it wasn't answered! He he...!

I'd like how you all feel about Digilabs vs. Smugmug vs Mpix. I've heard good and bad

about all.

What my needs are

1.) online viewing and ordering set to MY price.

2.) great quality

3.) coffee table books and porfolio magazines. (Not in any particular order.)

Here's the thing.

Smugmug looks perfect but doesn't offer #3.

Digilabs looks great but they already have a problem with showing me certain tours since

I'm on a Mac. Plus they have too many pricing options for hosting (commission+print cost

or a steeper monthly).

Mpix doesn't have hosting or coffee books and I don't sell enough to use Millerlabs.

So, does anyone have recommendations to a great lab that has everything I need? Or

should I settle for using a Smugmug+Digilabs combo?

Look at the post just before yours. I use Photographic Processing Inc. They use a proprietary software that allows on-line proofing, ordering, album design, ftp/email lab orders etc. Give Vance a call at 410-760-8778, or email me an I will send you my number to tell you how I have been using there services....john

I recommend smugmug! They properly support Mac, and have a simply and easy uploader. Literally, drag a pile of photos on this app and there they go! They are very low priced and charge comission only on your *markup* not the total sale.

For your coffee table books and such, use a pro lab, or Shutterfly is cheap and has a decent web based layout for simple books.

mpix has a terrible website (good luck cropping!!), but print quality is decent.

I've never used digilabs. In my opinion, don't bother with companies that have their heads so far up their @$$ they do not use web standards, much less support Mac.

Aaron Lee