lightmeter or in-camera-meting for DSLR?

geert_de_keyser1

When I only shot film I almost always measured my light with a

lightmeter: incident light mostly for color and spotmeting for black

and white (or incident when things had to be done quickly). Not

because one is beter then the other necessarily. A long time ago I saw

james nachtwey working like this and I just got used to it, liked it,

got better results and stuck with it. When I switched to DSLR for my

color work in press, reportage & corporate I read on more then one

occasion that the readings from a lightmeter (18% neutral grey) might

not be the best choice for digital. I've been doing some tests lately,

using them both and I've found that they differ slightly indeed. I was

wondering what other people's experiences were? I shoot Eos 1DIIN by

the way.

While I am just learning, I am taking a "Creative Lighting" Course.

I've learned how to properly use a Histogram and compensate properly.

(Something you can't really do with film.)

Also, I've learned to use "Sunny 16" which has helped my outdoor shots. (No camera reflective or incident meters needed at all.)

My retired photography teacher doesn't seem to use his incident meter any more.

I had concidered buying a light meter, but after learning above techniques, I decided not to.

Anyway, just my two cents...

-Mario

For most applications, the camera's meter will get you close enough, and a hand-held meter will get you no closer. You can use a test shot which you then evaluate with its histogram to make your final exposure. The histogram will tell you far more about correct exposure than any meter can.

There are still many situations where I prefer a hand held meter. Studio strobes require it. Landscape compositions are often easier when I can leave my camera locked in position and move around with a separate meter.

<p>