managing and manipulating light in larger formats

brent_mcsharry1

Thanks in advance for any opinions posted.

like many of these posts I begin with the cliche "I am a 35mm photographer who

is interested in the quality offered by larger formats"... ie absolute novice

in LF - sorry if the following Question is silly.

I like lanscapes and nature photography. I like to hike for days into the

wilderness. I do some 'architectural photography' in the form of old weather

beaten huts in the wilderness. I am drawn to the 6x17 format, either in the

form of the new horseman (the professional with shift + a ground glass back

and darkslide), or a 5x7 with the canham back. I am still trying to figure out

how useful tilt will be - it might help give the scene enough DOF at wider

apertures to avoid the 'milky' flowing water I am not a fan of (each to their

own). Bulk & weight are of course the draw-backs to the view camera and 6x17

back. I prefer wide angle lenses.

I am wondering (as a complete novice in the area of LF), how these cameras

will go with a flash - ie do they have a hotshoe, or is there a way to set a

cable release to fire a flash and shutter simultaneously ( i realise i will

have to manually set flash power, but prefer this anyway).

I was also wondering about peoples experience with ND grads in LF & panoramic -

can one stop the lens down while viewing the scene, in order to be able to

line up the grad and the horizon as one does in 35mm, or are there limitations

to either the shutter or ground glass focusing that prevent this being done

acurately in LF?

also - does anyone have experience with reflectors that are not bulky and

relatively light weight, so that they can be stuffed into a backpack with

other camera (and camping) gear.

if anyone believes other cameras would be better suited to flash and ND grads

while giving HIGH quality images, please let me know to.

Thanks again