is this package of Speedotron Brownline a good deal ?

adzy

I have someone selling the following system. I am an amateur with

about 4 years experience in photography, though I do not know much

about studio lighting.

I have someone selling the following system. COuld you please tell me

what would be a fair price for it ? and what are the things I should

look for.

SPEEDOTRON Brownline

Professional Photography

USED Studio Lighting Kit

1-Power pack D1602 (1600 true Ws)

2-Main heads - M11 (1200Ws max)

2-Small heads - MW3R (400Ws max)

2-Silver umbrellas for M11's

2-Different size snoots for MW3R

1-Barn doors attachment for MW3R

2-Medium size reflectors for M11's

1-Really large reflector for M11's

1-Gel holder

4-Light stands

1-Tri-Level Control

2-Light Head extension cables

1-Large rolling case

The D1602 has got to be a pretty old power pack. The D1604 is the current model and I would guess that has been around for more than 10 years. Any older pack may have capacitors that have lost capacity and may be near the point of failure. When a capacitor fails it can be a spectacular event and will require an expensive repair. If the pack has been stored and not used for many years it almost certainly needs new caps. The M11 heads are a good and versatile head. Even if they are in working condition now you would want to consider the tubes may need replacement in the very near future. The MW3R heads have a very low watt modeling lamp, fixed reflector, I don't use them at all. The Tri-Level control is a handy accessory for the Brownline system. The rest of the stuff may or not be of any value depending on condition. I don't think I would pay more than $400 unless I knew more about the condition and history of the equipment. I have several Brownline packs and heads and think they are a great value for a non-professional like me. I have bought all used equipment but buy carefully and have the ability to make many small repairs myself.