Being the "other" wedding photographer...

mary_s

I'm a professional wedding photographer who photographs 20+ weddings a year. My

future sister in law is having her wedding this summer, and the photographer she

is considering hiring has an exclusive photographer clause in her contract. It

is very important to me that I be allowed to photograph this family event. I

don't want to be in the other photographers way, but I won't be able to relax

and have fun without my camera in my hands. The photographer has requested I

contact her and I'm afraid she is going to be firm on her rules regarding other

photographers.

It is strange for me to be on "the other side" for once. As a wedding

photographer I have no rules in my contract about other photographs. I do ask

that people not take pictures during formals because it causes my strobes to

fire, but aside from that I'm very open to letting other people take pictures.

What is the most diplomatic way to handle this and still get my way? :)

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What I've done in the past is be respectful and don't take shots during the ceremony, or of any poses (done by the photographer). I've communicated with the photographer and stated my purpose, and that I had no interest in taking money from their print sales. I would stick to candids and evening shots, and would ask the photographer what would be okay with them (to a reasonable extent). It's easier for me to put the photographer at ease since I'm more into fashion and other portraits. It's also helped to open some doors.

I think you shouldn't worry so much about "getting your way." It's your future sister in law's

day, not yours. If she wants you to be able to take pictures, it's up to her to talk to find a

photographer that's okay with that. If she decides on one that doesn't allow others to shoot,

you need to respect her decision and respect the other photographer by not shooting.