How does the Epson 4000 with RIP compare to later printers?

Hi. I'm new to digital printing, and have had a couple of test prints made by a local printer, who is using

an Epson 4000 with the QuadtoneRIP. The prints are very detailed (they come from scanned 4x5"

negatives), but seem to me rather flat in terms of contrast, dmax.

Would you expect prints made on later machines like the 2400 and 4800 to be better than ones produced

on a 4000? I ask as I could consider getting an Epson 2400 myself, but would only do this if I were sure

the quality of toned b&w prints produced would be better than those my local man can produce on his

older 4000 printer.

Thanks for your help.

I have a 4000 with MIS B&W inks and I use QuadtoneRIP. Your dmax and/or flatness is going

to depend on the paper you use for one thing. I'm using Museo Silver Rag paper and the

prints are amazing. I have shut down my wet darkroom, except for film processing. <P>I

don't

know about the newer machines but you might want to check in to the

DigitalBlackandWhiteThePrint, Epson 4000 and QuadtoneRIP groups on Yahoo, lots of info

and they do talk around the printers in all three groups.</P>

The Dmax on a 4000 WILL be a little gray. Using glossy paper and tender care you are looking at, at most, a 2.0. I repeat, with tender care. Using a fine art paper you are hovering around the 1.5 to 1.7 point. Not very snappy. The 2400 will take you up to about 2.3 on glossy and 2.0 on SOME fine art paper. AA would have been thrilled with a 2.0. The 2400 does this by using 3 blacks.

On the other hand, the Epson 7600 (the DYE ink version) will give you a Dmax of 3.1.(but only 26 year archival under glass). Wonderful! Exciting prints, but . . .

I have both the 7600 DYE version and 2400.