AF ED 80-200 f/2.8 D - push-pull lens

yann_r.

I'm an amateur photographer who's planning to go to DSLR. I'm still comparing

bodies and Lens. (I haven't choose between Nikon or Canon yet, but the D200 has

got my preference).<p>

I'd like to know if the *old* <b>AF ED 80-200 f/2.8 D</b> push-pull Nikkor lens

is still worth it. Used ones are quite cheap (so to say).<br>

Thanks for sharing your experiences, photos and/or links appreciated.

The pump-action version slips if the lens is held at any angle other than horizontal, and does not have a tripod collar. It is a lot of lens to hang unsupported from the camera body. The newer two-touch AFD is better optically and mechanically, and comes in two flavors - with and without a tripod collar. The late model AFS version is significantly sharper, but twice as expensive.

What Edwards says is that this lens has zoom creep. I used to have the even earlier pre-D version. Both of those are optically the same as the 80-200mm/f2.8 AF-D with tripod collar that is still available new. Optically they are all fine, but I prefer to have a built-in tripod collar.

http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg.tcl?msg_id=000nBZ

I have the 80-200mm 2.8 AFD ED two ring version w/ tripod collar and I find the collar quite useful. All the 2.8 version are pretty heavy lenses and the tripod collar really comes in handy. If budget allows, I would go for the two ring version with collar.

Warning, be careful if buying the two ring version used. I see used versions going for more than you can buy a new one for on the big auction site.

The slippage issue is real but a lot depends on the sample you have. Mine is quite tight and only slips if I stand the lens vertically. This is a pretty heavy lens and with the body mounted on a tripod there is a lot of stress on the lens flange. There were a couple of aftermarket brackets (Kirk,?) to help with this. These sometimes show up on the used market.