f/2.8 vs f/4 on sensor offering good results at high ISO

yann_r.

Hi there,<p align="justify">

Since I'm still comparing lenses and reading reviews in order to choose my next

Canon's DSLR gear (the body will surely be a 30D, not a full frame), I'd like to

know if it's really *useful* to own fast lens (f/2.8) whereas Canon's sensors

are very fine at ISO 1600. I'm very interested by the optical qualities of both

17-40 f/4L 70-200 f/4L.<br>

I'm also wondering about depth of field: is the difference really noticeable

between f/2.8 and f/4 aperture?<p align="justify">

Please note that I'm only an amateur looking for good quality, surely not a pro

looking for the top of the range. I know well that there's a BIG difference of

price. Let's just talk about technical/optical results, not about budget.<p

align="justify">

Thanks so much in advance for your sharp words.

I agree with Neil. Don't forget that 1.6 crop sensor cameras have more depth of field than full frame sensor models.

I was happy with the 24-70/2.8L on my 20D (on which it looked like 38-112) and I'm happier with the 24-105/4L IS on my 5D, to the point where I'm now thinking of selling the 24-70/2.8L.

I hope this helps.

Pierre

<ul>

<li> Wide aperture allows you to have shallower DoF.</li>

<li> Wide aperture allows you to have more background blur.</li>

<li> Wide aperture allows you to have higher shutter speeds. Important when your subject is moving.</li>

<li> Wide aperture allows you to have brighter viewfinder. </li>

<li> Wide aperture allows you to have faster AF. </li>

</ul>

<p> Whether or not these benefits are worth the added weight and cost is subjective. </p>

<p> Happy shooting, <br>

Yakim. </p>

Yakim is right...I want to add that the size of the sensor is irrelevent....we all would benefit from the fastest aperture, 1.6 or 1.3 or 1.0 crop.

Even the lowest noise 5D is better used at ISO 400, 200 and lower, so to do this one needs fast glass.