70-200mm VR f/2.8 or 12-24mm f/4

jason_tanner

I know a lot depends on use, but I have no experience with a wide angle (I use

a D200 by the way) and so I debate between those two. I already have the 18-

200mm VR and I have the 50mm f/1.8, but I wonder about getting the sharpter

lens or the wide angle. I shoot a little bit of everything right now. You can

see at http://tannerphotography.net and http://byutanner.blogspot.com.

Eventually I want to get rid of the 18-200mm and have just the 70-200mm VR

f/2.8 and the 12-24mm, but money definately doesn't allow that just yet. I'm a

recently married student. So any thoughts would be greatly appreciated:)

The 70-200/2.8 AFS VR and the 17-55/2.8 AFS DX make a good combination. This setup would work well for weddings, events, landscapes and architecture. Both lenses are sharp enough to get the best out a D200. I use a 17-35, and use a 28-70 to fill the gap.

The 70-200 is a remarkable lens - very sharp and useful down to 1/15 second. In the interrim, you would have the wide end covered with the 18-200. I would recommend the 17-55 ahead of the 12-24 and lose the 18-200.

The distortion of the Nikkor 12-24 is quite low. What most people think is "distortion" is actually caused by perspective (view point).

Edward, the distortion on the 12-24mm in not "quite low"

You absolutly cannot put people near the edge of the frame without awfull streaching and elongation of subjects....but what else can you expect, it's 12mm. It doesn't work the same way as a 17-35 did on a film camera, so yeah focal length perspective has something to do with it too.

Comparing the 70-200 and 12-24 is like comparing apples and oranges. I happen to have both, but I use them for totally different purposes.