Nikon lens and I'm leaning towards the Sigma 170-500mm lens after looking at

some Tokina, Tamron and Sigma offerings. I can't afford a nikon of that range

yet and I while this is not the best I could buy (if money was no object) I'm

trying to balance functionality for me and cost since I can't afford to invest

$1400+ in one lens. I'm really looking for somethings <$700 with similar

range. I'm just a budding amateur so I'm trying to take steps and go from

there.

My question though is that at Sigma4Less.com, I've found 2 different models

listed for this lens I've found it listed as a model #734306 and a #733306.

Does anyone know the difference between these 2 lenses? Below are the caption

headings for each:

733306: Sigma Zoom Telephoto 170-500mm f/5-6.3 APO Aspherical Autofocus Lens

for Nikon AF-D

734306: Sigma Zoom Telephoto 170-500mm f/5-6.3 APO DG Autofocus Lens for Nikon

AF-D

Any ideas?

My guess is that the DG is the newer version, and they tweaked the glass coating a bit for quality. But I doubt there is that much difference between the two. The 170-500mm was my first long lens and I liked it. Stayed with it til I bought a Nikon tele prime. I've always considered the 170-500 to be one of the best choices for a budget telephoto. Chers, -Greg-

Greg's results show that he knows what he's talking about. You might also consider the

Sigma

50-500, which has a quite good reputation. It's a bit more expensive but much more solidly

built -- at least that's my impression -- and has an HSM focus system that is much quicker

and quieter than that of the 170-500.

In either case you'll need a solid tripod and good technique to get the most out of a 500 mm

lens.