Canon EOS 70-200mm f4 vs. 80-200 f2.8

conrad_stoll1

So i've been shooting sports for about two years now with a canon 10D. Last year I upgraded to NCAA

football and i've been loving it, but unfortunately I can only use my 10D sparingly for it because I don't

have a decent long lens. Sometimes I get to use a nikon with a 300mm f2.8 thats in our office, but its

not always around. For as many sports, and other outdoor activities that I shoot I've decided its time to

pick up a quality telephoto zoom to replace my aging 75-300 f4.5-5.6 usm.

I've narrowed it down to the 70-200 f4 and the 80-200 f2.8, but quite honestly i'm leaning towards the

70-200 f4.

Looking at the 70-200 f4 I see a newer lens with faster af, lighter weight, newer optics technology, and

a repairable lens that I can buy new for about 600.

The 80-200 f2.8 seems to have been a wonderful lens, but it obviously isn't made anymore, and cannot

be repaired by canon. Since you have to buy the lens used to get it at all, that sure doesn't make a 800

dollar investment look very tempting. The AF certainly feels slower from what I saw in a photo shop the

other day while I was checking both lenses out.

So really what I want to know is will the f4 work well enough for what I want to do with it? I'm looking

for the lens to be able to focus fast in fast sports (football, basketball, etc.) and also at the f4 end to be

able to throw the background out of focus well. That is a huge deal to me since in outdoor sports like

football you really want to be able to isolate the subject in the foreground. Is the bokeh on the f4 equal

or better than the older 80-200? How do those two lenses compare in that respect? And finally how

well does the f4 fare indoors? Does it get enough light in a basketball arena, or gymnasium?

I'll likely rent the lens eventually to test it myself before I buy one, but I was just looking for some user

opinions about the f4 and the old 80-200 f2.8.