How to store images when in remote areas?

I am a film photographer who is about to make the jump to digital. I

plan on my usual extended backpacking trip (14 days or so) this

summer, and my question is about storage of images. Since one can

quickly exceed the capacity of any memory card, I investigated the

avaibility of devices to store the data on CD or DVD. I am unable to

find such a device that works on batteries. I don't mind carrying

AA batteries. There isn't a convient 120 VAC outlet (or car) where I

can recharge batteries where I go backpacking.

I could purchase enough CF's to hold the images, but this is not a

viable economic solution.

Please excuse me if this has been answered in the past.

Kris

I know this isn't the AA battery solution you're looking for, but I use a Gmini 400 from Archos. Their website is down at the moment, so the best I can point you to is www.archos.com and click on Music. The Gmini 400 is an mp3 player/video player/20 GB hard drive that is pocket sized and runs off of rechargable (inaccessible) batteries. I bought it because it has a built-in CF slot and I love it for that reason. I don't know how many gigs of photos you expect to shoot but 18 usable GB with 5 MB jpegs is 260 photos/day for 14 days. The most I've every downloaded in a day into my Gmini is 3 GB and I didn't notice the batteries getting drained. It's going for $337.99 on Amazon right now. I can give you more info if you want.

<a href=http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/>These guys</a> sell lots of different portable hard drives, CD/DVD burners, etc. I have no affiliation with them, but have found them good to work with, and they seem to have fair prices.