this to be too broad a question, but some set their cameras on P on

go for it. Some prefer manual etc.

So, first of all if you were new to shooting weddings (or when

you "were" new and wanted to just be sure to get good shots and not

get too worried about different settings how did you do it? And

after you gained the experience, did you stick with tried and true

or how did your preferences change and how would you plan this type

of shoot now? Thanks.

Now: I might use AV during the day (depends on what kind of lighting) and switch to manual during the evening. Vary fill flash from -2 stops in the day in the shade, -1 in the bright sun to gradually full flash exposure as it grew darker, dragging the shutter. Natural light whenever it is beautiful. I use a handheld meter. I shoot with a manual medium format system too. I started shooting with a manual medium format system so nothing along those lines has changed except I now don't use manual flash all the time. I now use multiple lighting.

That's what most of my weddings are like.<br>

I use 3 cameras to start.<br>

I use M mode (with lightmeter) until I cannot hand-hold my camera.<br>

Then I retire my meter & the day camera.<br>

I finish off the event with two cameras & two flashes at M modes.<br>

<br>

Now, about your remark on "worried about different settings.."<br>

If you are worried about settings, you ain't ready to do weddings.<br>

It's as simple as that, everyone should agree with me.<br>

But people here are polite, that they will not tell you that...

If you put the camera on P and just go for it most of your shots will<b> probably</b> be ok. The <b>probability</b> that some critical shots will not be ok is also pretty high. Are you willing to take the <b>risk</b>? Is the bride? I'm not a statistician, by the way.

hi jan,

there's no way I'd even think about shooting an outdoor wedding without a 70-200 2.8 IS