up. My queston is, what is a good Nikon lens for this body, when

doing outdoors photography (Flowers-close up not macro) and

landscapes. I bought a second hand Vivitar Series 1 28-300 f/4.0-6.3

lens with it, and the lens in my opinion is poor quality. I'm

looking in getting a lens thats as good as a canon 70-200 f/2.8L

lens. What model of Nikon lenses for this body? Should I only stick

to the Nikon Digital lenses? My opinion is that this body deserves

good glass to show its full potential. Any insight would be

appreciated, im new to Nikon and need all the help I can get.

The 60mm f/2.8 AF Micro-Nikkor is very reasonably priced and reportedly excellent up close (not so good toward infinity focus, a fairly common weakness among macro lenses).

The 105mm f/2.8 and 200mm f/4 Micro-Nikkors are standards for excellence. They're also a bit pricey. Some folks really appreciate the convenience of the 70-180mm AF Micro-Nikkor, which makes the other Micro-Nikkors seem reasonably priced by comparison.

Here are a couple of recent threads on the Nikon Forum discussing these Nikkors and some good third party macro lenses.

http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00C0TP

http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00C00V

A Nikkor 17-35/2.8 AF-S and a 28-70/2.8 AF-S will cover you for landscapes. With zooms you can compose in the viewfinder, and take full advantage of the still-limited resolution of digital. With zooms, you also minimize the number of lens changes, consequently the amount of dust on the sensor. You can't use DX lenses because the Kodak is a full-frame sensor and DX lenses would vignette.

The 28-70/2.8 has a useable macro range (down to 10" or so). Still, you should get a lens designed for close focus (<1:10). A Nikkor 200/4 Macro is one of the best for field work, since it has an ample working distance (front element to the subject) even at 1:1.