Tripod & Monopod Recommendations

melisa

I'm in the market for a new tripod, the old & trusty has bit the

dust, and everyone seems to have a different take. I'm a total girl

when it comes to this one...so, I'd love your thoughts. Thinking

$250 would be my limit, as I really don't use a tripod much anyway,

but will need one nontheless. I've also been using the Pro-T frame

and the Stroboframe QR system, if that helps.

Any thoughts on monopod selection would also be appreciated.

Melisa, I've been photographing weddings for 22 years since I was 15 years old. Some of the methods I use are 'oldschool.'

Tripod is 'oldschool' but tripod is good. Camera attaches to tripod with quick release plate, so that camera can be rapidly removed.

When you're photographing groups, the tripod is a reference point for people to stand in front of, even if you're not at the tripod. I hope you get what I mean.

I use a Gitzo (French) tripod and a Manfrotto (Italian) ball and socket head. Gitzo and Manfrotto are popular in the USA. I also use a Tiltall (USA) tripod. A 'standard' Gitzo has a leg diameter of 28mm. I go for the slightly lighter 'weekend' 24mm. I also go for 4-section legs, rather than the common 3-section. Gitzo tripods are the best (strongest/lightest) aluminum on the planet.

A good tripod is expensive, like good dentistry, money well spent, a tripod is for life, not just for thanksgiving. Check out Ebay for a second hand Gitzo or Tiltall.

See if you can check out Giottos Tripods and Monopods in person. I just bought them and

have been quite happy. I think they are basically Gitzo copies and I find them to be way

more than sufficient. (For reference, I also own a big expensive heavy Majestic Tripod)

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?

A=search&Q=&b=171&Submit.x=9&Submit.y=5&shs=&ci=2636&ac=

A=search&Q=&b=171&Submit.x=13&Submit.y=6&shs=&ci=397&ac=

For quick Tripod shooting I really like the Manfrotto "Grip Action" Head