Basic usage of light meter when shooting portraits

chris_shawn

Hello, I just bought a light meter (Minolta Auto Meter VF) to use it

with flash. I read the instruction manual but it was lacking

information on where to place the meter exactly. I have no experience

with meters, can somebody please answer my simple questions:

- Where do I meter? Nose? Cheek? Forehead? Or is it all the same (as

long as the part of the face will be part of my photograph)?

- How close do I have to be at the subject with my meter?

Almost "touching" the face with the meter I suppose.

- How many different parts (face, hands, etc.) should I meter? Should

I meter several parts and calculate a mixed exposure then?

- I point the meter in the direction of the camera always, right?

Thanks a lot for answering my beginner's questions.

Thanks!

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0967152305/104-1485764-5044743?v=glance

The Hand Exposure Meter Book (Paperback)

by Gerald Hisrchfeld, Bob Shell, Martin S. Silverman, Jim Zuckerman

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

List Price: $19.95

Price: $16.96 & Eligible for FREE Super Saver Shipping on orders over $25. See details

You Save: $2.99 (15%)

Scroll down to this thread....................# Incident light metering. Very basic question! by Leo Rossi (2005-04-13).............which is some ways below yours, you've bought an incident meter, you've mentioned things on a person face so I'm assuming you're talking about photography people.

These kinds of questions always spark 'spirited' discussions on various techniques different folks have in using an incident meter. Metering/light/exposure is not rocket science, it's not real complex, but it's not simple either, there's a learning curve.