I am fairly new to photography and I need some help with some new

lenses. I am traveling to asia for 4 weeks and will take my new 20D

with me. I want some great pictures and need some advice on

lenses. I have a canon 100mm 2.8 macro. I am also looking at the

100-400L IS lens. I would like to use the 100 400L IS lens for

wildlife and outdoor scenes far away. I would also like a good

lense for general landscapes (beach scenes, buildings and general

pictures of life in the places I'm at). I would also like a wide

angle lens. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

js

The standard wide angle/standard lens that everyone on PN seems to recommened for digital is the 17-40 L. And with good reason, since it's a great lens. As far as the telephoto, well, 100-400 is going to be pretty long on a 20D. How far away are you going to be? You might want to check into the details of wildlife shooting where you're going to be, and maybe ask those who have done it what kind of equipment they were using.

Second the recommendation of the 17-40 (unless you want REALLY wide views in which

case the 10-22 might be a better choice). Definitely keep the 100-400 if you want to do

wildlife, unless it's only going to be used for big mammals in a zoo. It's also a really

handy lens for a lot of landscape work (that and the 17-40 account for about 90% of my

landscape shooting).

For the 20D I'd opt for the 10-22 as I think the 17-40 is not wide enough on the 20D.

The 100-400 IS is a very good lens but do you really need 640mm effective focal length? It is also very heavy and when back-packing this might be an issue.

I'd go for a 10-22 + 50/1.8 + 70-200/4 set because for me (YMMV) light weight and wide-angle are more important than tele and IS.

May I suggest a search? A lot has been discussed on all these lenses.

Happy shooting,

Yakim.