Digicam as light meter ??

ben conover

Hi, I am a beginner.

I just bought a nice big Fuji 690BL with standard lens, I want the

other lenses for it now......I want to use a meter with the Fuji and

I am not sunny 16 fan. I thought of using my Nikon F4s to meter but

then I thought how much I want a digicam too. So, being a purist at

heart, why can't I just buy a simple point and shoot digicam and ue

that as a light meter for the Fuji ????????????

Any help appreciated with many thanks.

I still use a handheld meter. It can do spot, incident and flash metering. I don't need a histogram for everything. My meter is also cheaper, lighter and smaller than my digicam. The battery lasts a lot longer, too.

But you can save yourself a couple hundred bucks by just using the digicam. It's your choice.

Hello again, as I said initially, I am a beginner, therefore I must trust what answers are offered to my many questions about photography. The first answer concerning my question about using a point and shoot digicam as a light meter was both excellent and fast.

I have read the link posted http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/s30-as-meter.shtml and I think the author of the article http://www.nickrains.com/ is an accomplished proffesional photographer, I love his large format landscapes, and I have learned much from http://www.luminous-landscape.com Therefore I can trust without hesitation the advice and new ideas given.

I also read the link given http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydscv3/page12.asp and so I do understand why people do not always 'trust' the manufacturers of digital cameras to show the ISO sensitivity in exact relation to other types of meters. However, if no two meters are ever the same anyway, what does it matter????????? Just use one and grab the shot.

Thankyou.