building a website

jennea

Thanks David! They do seem quite good. It's nice to hear from someone who's actually

worked with them. As you can probably tell I'm working on starting my own business and

trying to cover all the bases. Having a hard time coming up with a name, though. Wish me

luck! Jennea

The thing I didn't like about BlueDomain is that they force you into their hosting plans. I already have a web hosting provider and I want more control over design/development than they offer. (As a Web developer myself, this is to be expected.) There is not doubt that they create stunning designs, but they want to keep control over their products. For photographers who need to outsource their web hosting and development, its probably a fine choice.

Another thing that I didn't like is that, while their visual styles are all different, the Flash web page functionality of the sites they make are the same. Your Flash site will look and feel like a cookie cutter website, in spite of the razzle dazzle flash interface.

Best of luck to you!

Use your own name as the company name. A cute name will hurt your business.

HTML is not much harder than word processing. Start with HTML for Dummies. A lot of photographers have outdated web sites because they can't afford the cost of keeping them current. If you do a simple site yourself then you can keep it up to date.

The people who provide your email account may also provide web space at no additional charge. My Earthlink account gives me 80 mb of web space, more than enough.

Earthlink and others also provide tools for building your own site.

A company like www.1accredited.com can host your domain name, which can link to the website on your email account.

There are people who strongly disagree with me, but I advocate extremely simple sites, even though I am a professional programmer and could do anything I want in terms of technology. I am about to rewrite my site and it will be pure HTML.