leaf shutter on Mamiya

katie h.

I am considering buying a Mamiya 645 E camera and 70mm LS lens.

Please forgive me but I am new to MF and the idea of using a leaf

shutter in a camera with a focal plane shutter intrigues me. I have

read that:

"When using the leaf shutter that is built into the lens, you will

need to set the body's shutter speed to 1/8 of a second or longer to

prevent it from closing before the leaf shutter. Then set the

shutter speed using the ring on the lens. If using flash with the

leaf shutter, the flash sync cable must be plugged into the lens

rather than the body."

What other steps should I be aware of if I want to take advantage of

the leaf shutter lens. Do I need to lock the mirror up? Does the

shutter button on the camera trigger the leaf shutter and focal

plane shutter at the same time? All I have to do is flip a switch on

the lens, right? And if I plug my studio lights into the lens then

they will get set off too? This is so exciting/confusing. Thank you

for your help.

I use a LS lens with a Pentax 645N. I suspect that these comments will apply to the Mamiya as well, but hopefully a Mamiya user will step in and fill out the details and make the necessary corrections.

At least with the Pentax, other idiosycrasies are that the lens must be manually cocked for each shot and that some of the metering options are not available in LS mode. However, as you suspect, the shutter button trips both shutters, the leaf after the first focal plane curtain is fully open and before the second begins to close.

You shouldn't need mirror lockup just because it is as LS lens--only for the same reasons you normally would.