Which lens/es for 10D?

david_french3

I have a 10D and have been using a Tamron 28-300 zoom for just over a year. It's not

been bad, but I've had some iffy experiences with the lens (focusing / clarity problems).

Then I tried a friend's Canon 28-135 IS lens and thought the IS was *great*. So I started

thinking about replacing the Tamron with something altogether higher quality.

I've also found the 28-300 is a bit limiting on a APS-C sized sensor such as the one in the

10D because it's not wide enough for some of what I want to do.

I mainly do travelogue & candid portrait (ie, non-studio) photography; also some

landscape, but nothing the 28-300 hasn't been able to cope with. I already have a Sigma

17-35 and Canon 50mm F/1.8, but neither of these see a huge amount of use compared

to the long zoom. (Needless to say, I never have the 17-35 with me when I need a wide

angle shot.) I tend not to have a tripod with me most of the time, hence the appeal of

IS.

I'm currently considering 2 possibilities:

1) Canon 28-300 F/3.5-5.6 L IS

2) Canon 24-70 F/2.8 L plus Canon 70-200 F/2.8 L IS with extender

Neither of these options is remotely cheap, so I really want to make sure I get this right

first time! I also don't want to be buying lenses again in 3 years or so when the 10D is old

hat and I'm looking at a 16mp digital slr for $1500 :)

On the one hand, I like the idea of a single lens, as I don't like changing lenses all the time

(dust, extra weight, possibility of dropping one). This puts the 28-300 in a good light.

But, it's a darn heavy lens to lug around *all* the time (for example, I'm doing candid

shots at a wedding in December). And 3.5-5.6 isn't a particularly spectacular aperture in

the scheme of things, although the IS gives you a couple of extra stops from the point of

view of shake, if not depth-of-field.

On the other hand, the second option appeals because of the large aperture throughout