Visatec light kit, used purchase, comments?

john_sack

My photo store saw that I was doing an 8-weekend rental of a Visatec

3-head (600w/s) kit (with reflectors, grid set, soft box, umbrella;

no stands). The rental would have cost me $400; it is for a class

I'm taking in commercial lighting. (I'm a beginner with lighting,

and am mostly interested in lifestyle portraits.)

They have one kit that just came back reconditioned from the

manufacturer and has a 6-month warranty. They will sell me the kit

for $1200 (retail is something like $2400 or so).

Is this a good deal? I'll rent it for a weekend to try it out. But

since I'm a beginner I don't have much judgement.

I've looked at the Visatec site and specs. The modeling light is

halogent 150W. 3 stop continuous adjustment. Otherwise seems

pretty typical.

How easy is Visatec to fit to non-Visatec light modifiers? Easily

available speed rings and such?

Is there anything special I should ask about or ask for in the deal

since it is used?

Is there any way to battery power this kind of setup. I assume

not? If not, I'll use my Canon 580ex and 420ex when I need battery

portability.

Thanks for advice, folks. Much obliged to this group.

A 150w modelling lamp is just too dim, especially if you will be using these strobes for environmental portrature with existing ambient light. 600ws isn't much power when spread between 3 heads. On top of all that, these lights are used and reconditioned, not new.

Speedotron makes a nice, extremely small, 7lb 800ws black line pack which sells for $679 new. Speedotron 102 heads, rated for 2400ws are about $350 each new, and they have 250 w modeling lamps.

There are a lot of other choices out there for a similar amount of money.

Clarification: these are monolights, not a powerpack. So the 600w/s is per light, not split on a pack.