Advice on choosing a scanner

Some advice please on picking out a 35mm scanner. Just lately I have been experimenting

with scanning some old negatives and slides with a cheapo Pacific Image scanner. While it

has allowed me to have digital versions of some nostalgic photos, they are plainly not up

to snuff for printing at 10x8. Despite this I have had such fun doing it that I have started

using some T-Max 100 in my old cameras again. As things stand I can't get good prints

from these, and my enlarger is so full of dust from long years of neglect....

So I'm thinking about getting a decent scanner. I'm no pro, and do not need the ultimate

scanner, but a hobbyist with high standards. It looks as if either the KM DiMage Dualscan

IV or the Nikon Coolscan V (have roman numerals come back into fashion?) I live in the

middle of nowhere in Nova Scotia, so seeing these things in a dealer's shop is a joke. I'm

going to have to buy it sight unseen.

Does anyone have any thoughts on these or other options? I would really like it if someone

could mail me a full-size scan of a sharp negative (I know, you guys don't have any of the

unsharp sort, and I do have a DSL connection) so I can see for myself how good a job they

can do! Thanks very much!

Chris

I was in the same position as you unitl a couple of days ago when I bought a Dimage

5400. I'm on a slow connection so attaching files here. The first image is almost the full

scan and the second is a crop at 100% (input 5400dpi, output 300dpi). Shot on Leica

M7 35mm lens with colour positive film. I've messed with the image in terms of

converting it to B&W and sharpening.<div>009oQO-20070884.jpg.067feaced53fe5f1e67184421a86768d.jpg</div>

You can't really go past the Nikon scanners IMO. The Nikon software, I believe is

totally underrated, is also excellent and allows unbelievable control over image

scanning. In particular the "Analogue Gain" feature. It leaves Silverfast for dead, which

I use on my Epson flatbed.